OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS OF THE WAUSAU COMMON COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

held on Tuesday, April 16, 2024, in Council Chambers, beginning at 6:30 p.m., Mayor Doug Diny presiding.

Certification of Election was provided.

The Mayor was sworn in with the Oath of Office by the Honorable Judge Gregory Strasser. The Alderpersons and Municipal Judge were sworn in with the Oath of Office by City Clerk Kaitlyn Bernarde.

Roll Call 04/16/2024

Council Members 2024 – 2026

<u>District</u>	<u>Alderperson</u>	<u>Vote</u>
1	Lukens, Carol	YES
2	Martens, Michael	YES
3	Kilian, Terry	YES
4	Neal, Tom	YES
5	Gisselman, Gary	YES
6	McElhaney, Becky	YES
7	Rasmussen, Lisa	YES
8	Watson, Sarah	YES
9	Tierney, Vicki	YES
10	Larson, Lou	YES
11	Henke, Chad	YES

Suspend the Rules 04/16/2024

Motion by Watson, second by Lukens, to suspend the rules.

Yes Votes: 11 No Votes: 0 Abstain: Not Voting: 0 Result: PASSED

<u>02-0432</u> 04/16/2024

Motion by Watson, seconded by Martens, to adopt the Ordinance Adopting Council Rules for 2024 - 2026.

Yes Votes: 11 No Votes: 0 Abstain: 0 Not Voting: 0 Result: PASSED

Nominations for Council President were opened.

Kilian nominated Gary Gisselman. Gisselman accepted the nomination.

Watson nominated Lisa Rasmussen. Rasmussen accepted the nomination.

McElhaney nominated Lou Larson. Larson accepted the nomination.

Tierney nominated Becky McElhaney. McElhaney did not accept the nomination.

Nominations were closed and a vote was taken by secret ballot.

Lisa Rasmussen was elected as Council President on a vote of 6-4-1 for the 2024 - 2026 term.

Nominations for Plan Commission were opened.

Rasmussen nominated Sarah Watson. Watson accepted the nomination.

Nominations were closed without any other nominations.

Without objection, a unanimous ballot was cast for Sarah Watson to the Plan Commission for the 2024 - 2026 term.

Nominations for Wausau Water works Commission were opened.

Larson nominated Becky McElhaney. McElhaney accepted the nomination.

Nominations were closed without any other nominations.

Without objection, a unanimous ballot was cast for Becky McElhaney to the Wausau Water Commission for the 2024 - 2026 term.

02-0403 04/16/2024

Mayor Diny distributed a communication to the Common Council making appointments to the Standing Committees for 2024 – 2026.

24-0403 04/16/2024

Motion by Henke, seconded by Neal, to confirm the Mayor's Appointments to Boards, Commissions, and Committees as Indicated.

Yes Votes: 11 No Votes: 0 Abstain: 0 Not Voting: 0 Result: PASSED

02-0434 04/16/2024

Motion by Lukens, seconded by Henke, to adopt the Resolution of the Common Council Designating Official Newspaper.

Larson questioned if this official newspaper needed to be a printed outlet and if an online outlet could be designated. It was stated that in order to be designated as an official newspaper, an outlet must demonstrate a circulation of a certain amount which online outlets often are not able to provide.

Neal stated that the circulation of newspapers has been declining in recent years. It was stated that the requirement says published, not printed, which could qualify online outlets for this designation. Neal questioned if this should be investigated further.

Motion by Larson, seconded by Neal, to table the Resolution of the Common Council Designating Official Newspaper.

Martens questioned if the motion to table would impact the operations of the city government. It was stated that the city would use the previously designated official newspaper until the resolution was passed.

Gisselman questioned if online outlets would accept the designation or if it was legal for an online outlet to be designated as the official newspaper. It was stated that it needs to be researched if the online outlets meet the qualifications and if those outlets would accept.

Neal stated a preference for an online and printed outlet.

Henke questioned if this was a part of the rules that could be changed at any time and if voted upon now would set the designation for the term. It was stated that this was not a part of the rules and voting on the resolution would indeed designate for the term.

T 7 .

Not Voting: 0

<u>District</u>	<u>Alderperson</u>	<u>Vote</u>
1	Lukens, Carol	YES
2	Martens, Michael	YES
3	Kilian, Terry	YES
4	Neal, Tom	YES
5	Gisselman, Gary	NO
6	McElhaney, Becky	YES
7	Rasmussen, Lisa	YES
8	Watson, Sarah	YES
9	Tierney, Vicki	YES
10	Larson, Lou	YES
11	Henke, Chad	NO

02-0435

Abstain: 0

Motion by Watson, seconded by Larson, to adopt the Resolution Designating Public Depositories.

No Votes: 2

D: . . .

Yes Votes: 11 No Votes: 0 Abstain: 0 Not Voting: 0 Result: PASSED

Adjourn 04/16/2024

Motion by Larson, seconded by Lukens, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:26 p.m.

Doug Diny, Mayor Kaitlyn Bernarde, City Clerk

Yes Votes: 9

Result: PASSED