JOINT FINANCE COMMITTEE AND ROOM TAX COMMISSION MEETING

Date and Time: Tuesday, November 28, 2023 @ 6:00 P.M., Council Chambers

Finance Committee Members Present: Lisa Rasmussen, Michael Martens, Sarah Watson, Doug Diny, and Carol Lukens Room Tax Commission Members Present: Michael Martens, Lisa Rasmussen, Chad Henke, Tim VanDeYacht, Lindsey Lewitzke

Others Present: Mayor Rosenberg, MaryAnne Groat, Anne Jacobson, Liz Brodek, Kody Hart

Noting the presence of a quorum Chairperson Rasmussen called the Finance Committee meeting to order at 6:03 P.M. Noting the presence of a quorum Chairperson Martens called the Room Tax Commission to order at 6:03 P.M.

Minutes of the previous Room Tax Commission meeting (09/25/2023).

Motion by Henke, seconded by Rasmussen to approve. Motion carried 5-0.

<u>Discussion and possible action regarding renewal of the Tourism Entity Agreement with the Wausau/Central Wisconsin Convention and Visitors Bureau.</u>

Tim White, Executive Director of the Wausau/Central Wisconsin Convention and Visitors Bureau presented on the ongoing operations of their organization and upcoming initiatives. The organization is seeking a two-year contract as opposed to a one-year contract that has been historically renewed on that basis.

Link to the presentation provided: https://www.wausauwi.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/10292

Rasmussen stated that the flow of financial and results standards information has improved significantly.

Lewitzke questioned various line items of the proposed contract and budget which were answered by White and Jodi Maguire, Director of Operations of the Wausau/Central Wisconsin Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Diny questioned if reports and results will come in annually. It was stated that a report would be provided quarterly and the CVB staff would be available for further questions and results.

The Finance Committee and the Room Tax Commission decided not to go into Closed Session on this matter.

Motion by Watson, seconded by Diny, to approved from the Finance Committee. Motion carried 5-0. Motion by Lewitzke, seconded by Henke, to approve from the Room Tax Commission. Motion carried 4-0, with VanDeYacht abstaining.

Adjournment

Motion by Watson, seconded by Diny, to adjourn the Finance Committee. Motion carried. Motion by VanDeYacht, seconded by Henke, to adjourn the Room Tax Commission. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:00 P.M.

For full meeting video on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEVAgemaSf4