not paid rent, if the tenant damaged the
property, or if the tfenant seriously ignored
safety codes.

Wisconsin law explains what landlords must
do to evict tenants. A landlord must give

a fenant proper notice, and they must
follow the Small Claims Court procedures for
eviction. When a landlord gives a tenant
proper notice and follows the correct
procedures, they can evict a tenant. But

a landlord cannot evict a tenant if the
reasons are based upon illegal discrimination
or revenge for a tenant reporting code
violations or joining a tenants’ union.

A tenant may have rights in lieu of orin
addition to those acquired by law or the
housing code if the tenant rents a subsidized
dwelling or rents in a mobile home park.

The following agencies can provide
information on whether a tenant or landlord
has violated the law, the housing code, or
the rental practices code.

WHO TO CONTACT FOR HELP

Federal Trade Commission - Midwest Region
55 West Monroe St., Suite 1825, Chicago, IL 60603
877-382-4357

Consumer Business Counsel
P.O. Box 6190, Wausau, WI 54401
715-845-6908

Tenant Resource Center
1045 East Dayton St., Madison, WI 53707
608-257-0006 www.tenantfresourcecenter.org

The following agency can provide assistance in
finding a lawyer:

Lawyer Referral and Information Service
of the State Bar of Wisconsin
800-362-9082

The following agency may provide tenants with
a lawyer for a non-criminal matter, including
housing, if the tenant falls within certain low in-
come guidelines:

Wisconsin Judicare Inc.
300 Third St., Suite 210, Wausau, WI 54403
800-472-1638 www.judicare.org

To sue in Small Claims Court or o file an eviction
action, contact the following:

Small Claims Court

Marathon County Courthouse

500 Forest St., Wausau WI 54401

715-261-1310
http://www.co.marathon.wi.us/Departments/

ClerkofCourts/SmallClaimsinformation.aspx
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Some people get these terms
mixed up.

TIermination means ending a rental
agreement by written notice. Both
the landlord and tenant can do this.
Leases usually say how each must
give this notice.

Eviction means a landlord goes

to court to remove a tenant who
broke a lease, disobeyed rules and
regulations, or didn't move out when
the rental agreement was properly
terminated.
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Termination & Eviction

When landlords want tenants to leave before the rental agreement ends, they must give tenants a
notice terminating their tenancy.

The type of notice landlords must give depends on the type of tenancy the renters have and why
the landlord wants them fo leave. Landlords must give these different types of nofices to terminate
tenancy before filing an eviction in court.

Type of Tenancy

Tenant rents month
tfo month or week to
week with no written
lease. Landlord
simply wants him to
leave.

Notice Landlord
Must Give

Written notice at
least 28 days before
the end of the rental
period. For example,
when rent is due

July 1, landlord must

give notice by June 2.

Tenant rents week to
week and doesn’t pay
his rent.

Written nofice to pay
or vacate in 5 days.

Type of Tenancy

Tenant rents with a
written lease for one
year or less, or rents
year to year and
doesn’t pay his rent.

Notice Landlord
Must Give

Written nofice to pay
or vacate in 5 days.
If landlord gives this
notice and tenant
doesn't pay rent on
time again within a
year, landlord can
give written notice
fo leave on a certain
date at least 14 days
after the nofice.

Tenant rents month to
month and doesn’t
pay his rent.

Written nofice to pay
or vacate in 5 days
or leave on a certain
date at least 14 days
after the noftice,
whether tenant pays
the overdue rent or
not.

Tenant rents month to
month and damages
the property or breaks
the rental agreement
(by other than non-
payment of rent).

Written notice to
leave on certain date
at least 14 days after
the notice.

Tenant rents with

a written lease for
one year or less, or
rents year to year
and damages the
property or breaks
the rental agreement
(by other than non-
payment of rent).

Written nofice to
pay for damages
and obey the rental
agreementin 5

days or vacate. If
landlord gives that
notice and tenant
again damages the
property or breaks
the rental agreement,
landlord can give
written notice to
leave on a certain
date at least 14 days
after the noftice.

Landlords must give notice to
tenants in one of these ways:

e Landlords must first attempt to give written
notice to the tenants personally.

e If the landlord cannot personally give
notice, they must leave the notice at the
premises with a family member who is
at least 14 years old and fell the family
member what the notice is.

e [f the first 2 options are not possible,
a landlord can give the notice to a
competent person in charge of the
premises and mail a copy to the tenant’s
last known address.

e When none of the above are possible,
the landlord can post the notice on the
premises and mail a copy to the tenant’s
last known address; or

e The landlord can mail a copy of the
notice by registered or certified mail to the
tenant’s last known address; or

¢ The landlord can have the notice served
on the tenant the same way court papers
are served.

When a landlord gives a tenant proper notice
and terminates the rental agreement but the
tenant doesn’t leave, the landlord can begin
eviction proceedings in court.

If a landlord does not give the required
notice, an eviction is not proper. For example,
a “pay or vacate in 3 days” notice is not legal.
When tenants are not sure the notice they
received is legal, they should talk to a lawyer.

Through an eviction proceeding, a landlord
can legally remove a tenant from rental
property by court order. Courts normally
allow a landlord to evict a tenant only when
the tenant has seriously broken the rental
agreement. For example, if the tenant has



